Mk. 24: Some Random Colored Doodling

'Some Random Colored Doodling' (mixed media on textured paper)

‘Some Random Colored Doodling’ (mixed media on laid paper)

It was around this time that I already started using specialty paper, but I particularly found the laid paper with thickness at 220 gsm ideal whenever I worked on watercolors since it showed some favorable amount of resistance to curling up from all edges whenever I wet my paper. I could have gone ahead and used watercolor paper if I wanted to but since I’m still experimenting and most of the time practicing, I find it quite unreasonable for me to be wasting expensive watercolor paper on practice work and discovering laid paper was a far more better and inexpensive alternative that proved to be efficient (well, at least for me personally.)

Oh, and the work piece you’re seeing right now… well, it didn’t exactly turned out the way I wanted it to be and instead it looked like it came from a children’s fantasy/fairy tale story laced in absinthe or something… Anyways, stay safe everyone and have a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “Mk. 24: Some Random Colored Doodling

  1. In my studies, experienced water colour teachers always had one thing in common; use the best paper you can afford – you never know when you will paint something SO brilliant that you’ll regret not using better materials. I agree with this… machine-made paper cheapens the effect and quality of watercolour work. In my humble opinion, of course. One teacher I had many years ago had us assemble our own watercolour “pads” using small sheets made (torn) from a large single sheet of watercolour paper, then punched with a paper punch and assembled with 3-ring binder rings. I still have mine! That way, we had easily transportable “sketchbooks”, but if we were particularly pleased with one page, we could then easily remove it and have it framed, give away, or … today, scan it .. (have I mentioned this to you before? Or am I having a Deja Vu?) Uh-oh. If I haven’t scared you off, I can post a photo of this “sketchbook” to my Facebook Page which you can locate on my WordPress blog… just post a comment if you’d like to know what this looks like and I can show you. Keep up the fantastic work by the way! I’m impressed that you are working so hard at your art and I’m really enjoying your watercolours!

    • Hi Deb, I certainly agree with everything you’ve just mentioned and it is in fact true that using good quality paper for your watercolors will give out good results in your work. I have seen quite a number of awesome watercolor pieces done on watercolor paper (whether hot-pressed or cold-pressed) and they are just a sight to behold for a newbie like me 🙂 but of course I really don’t want to jump the gun and go ahead with using watercolor paper just for practice work since, for one, I believe I still have a looong way to go with my watercolors and in my honest opinion I’m still not that confident about my work, I feel there’s a need to work on a lot of things before I can go ahead and do my watercolors without any hesitations, for now I’m still on that stage of experimenting, exploring and doing a lot of self-study which includes learning the important basics by heart. Though it would be nice if I can actually work on a practice piece using a sheet or two of watercolor paper and I’m planning to do so when I go back to the art supplies store some time soon.

      I have always wanted to make my own watercolor pad and I would like to learn how, but the only problem Deb is that I don’t have my Facebook account anymore, been years now since I discontinued using FB. Anyways, maybe there’s another way where I can see the sketchbook you’ve made and hopefully learn how to make one for myself someday.

      Again, my sincerest thanks to you Deb for all the words of encouragement, I am glad there is you and a handful of others out there who somehow appreciates my humble pieces of amateurish work. And guys like you always give me that inspiration and much-needed perseverance to pursue that goal that I’ve always wanted to achieve for a long time. Have a wonderful weekend and keep safe always. 🙂

      • That would be great, Deb.. Thanks a bunch! Hoping to see the photos soon 🙂 I’m glad you liked this impromptu piece I made, it was all just random doodling and somehow it ended up like that haha. But then again, thank you so much Deb, really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

