Mk. 18: The Pains of Having To Draw a Decent Female Character

'The Pains of Having to Draw a Decent Female Drawing' (mixed media on sketch pad, 8 1/4" x 5 1/2")

‘The Pains of Having to Draw a Decent Female Character’ (mixed media on sketch pad, 8 1/4″ x 5 1/2″)

One of my biggest frustrations in life as a newbie painter is drawing the female form… even in the past when I was indulging myself heavily into pen and ink drawings it was somewhat of a struggle for me to accomplish female characters and the ones you’re seeing above are some samples of how far I can go in drawing females. But as they always say, “practice makes perfect”, so I’ll just continue working on it until I can get to draw decent ones in the future…

4 thoughts on “Mk. 18: The Pains of Having To Draw a Decent Female Character

  1. fhm helps, haha 😀 seriously it does, look and observe the female curves and nooks, its the cheapest or have a nude drawing session. i have a friend inviting me for a session at ayala museum, its a 150 later today 🙂

    • Haha, well to be honest I’ve tried that already (though FHM wasn’t the reference material) but I go for the simple-looking ones to work on first, just gradually feeling my way into drawing the female anatomy, usually I go for old magazines lying around the house or sometimes if there are interesting photos on Instagram I would do quick sketches using them 🙂 You’re quite lucky to have access to nude drawing/painting sessions.. I had always wanted to attend one but never had any connections to anyone who holds those sessions. But still hopeful I can get to attend one in the future.

      • i’ll update you if something came up again and if you’re still interested to join. 🙂 i also joined a group called session illustrated, once a month we get to meet up and just draw somewhere, you could join us if you want 🙂 around QC, Ortigas and Makati is the usual meet up place.

      • Wow, really? That would be great, thanks 🙂 though I’m hoping I won’t be kinda left out since I have this feeling that you guys are top-notch artists and I’m just a newbie with nothing to be proud of except for my amateurish work pieces hehe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

