Mk. 13: Mila

'Mila' (watercolor + fine pen on sketch pad, 8 1/4" x 5 1/2")

‘Mila’ (watercolor + fine pen on sketch pad, 8 1/4″ x 5 1/2″)

I never really wanted to do this piece, not for any particular reason but the emotional baggage that carries with it is quite enormous… this was taken from a photo I took of my ex-girlfriend of 8 years during one of our weekend dates a couple of years ago. The absence of her mouth/lips from this painting was intentional.. I just didn’t want to remember her beautiful smile. I’ve always loved to see her smile.

6 thoughts on “Mk. 13: Mila

  1. Some of us have a very good reason for not remembering a moment (or a part of body, or face, …or whatever). Even with missing lips, i think you did a very good work with this piece.

    • Thank you Alf for the kind words, I wanted somehow to complete her portrait but it was her smile that always stayed with me from the time I met her until we went our own separate ways. Her smile gave me comfort and assurance through the good and tough times we had for 8 wonderful years… but now it only brings me sadness and regret, and it pains me to know that I will never see that beautiful smile of hers ever again. Oh well, that was a mouthful I got there… but thanks again Alf for the comment and stay safe always.

  2. an eight-year relationship that ended could really bring lots of baggage. You’ll always miss the person anyway so don’t hold back if you want to remember her, they are good memories 🙂 Just don’t linger too much and remind yourself that those are great times but it didn’t work out so no reason to over analyze on what went wrong. You’re just remembering good times like remembering a scene from a movie. ok, i sounded like Dr. Phil, i’m going to stop here, haha 🙂

    • Haha, it’s perfectly okay, no worries 🙂 in fact I am grateful that I get to read your wonderful advice and opinions just to knock some sense into me every once in a while when I start to drift away into the past. Somehow I’ve already started to move on and the healing process on my part had already begun. 8 years is still 8 years and it was never easy burning that bridge that you’re still crossing or losing a past that you’re still lost in, but I’m learning to face each new day with a smile. Thanks for the comment, I’ll surely bear those things in mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

