Trying my hand once again in doing watercolor…

Pen and ink drawings had always been my passion way before I went back to photography some years ago and it was only recently when I blogged about my decision to finally tuck away my pens and retire from drawing for good. I felt that I was no longer in that good of a condition to draw since it has been more than a decade when I made some decent drawings and now I literally have to start from scratch in order for me, somehow, to be back in the saddle. Honestly I don’t find my drawings exceptionally good and I am more of just a self-taught artist whose quality of work is just on the meager average level.. But I guess the drive in me to be able to come up with dozens of comic panels and pages in one sitting had withered and it was high time for me to just carry on and move forward up until I decided to go back to one of my long lost hobbies, photography.

It was only a couple of days ago when I saw my old, almost untouched Prang watercolor set along with a cheap, non-branded one that I used mostly for painting practice,  gathering dust inside an old cardboard box inside my room. I took them out and gave the two some thorough cleaning and dusting and all of a sudden it hit me… what if I gave it a go once more in doing watercolor? That sudden spur of the moment decision got me sitting in front of the study table all set to paint without any specific subject in mind and all I said was “What the heck…” and I just painted almost half the afternoon away.

Unlike oil painting, watercolor is in a way complex and for some, quite hard to master. It would take a beginner like me TONS of practice and a whole lot of patience for me to get the hang of it. In using oils for your paintings, if you made a mistake it is easier for anyone to do a retouch and cover it up. Not with watercolor, it is the exact opposite. Despite the complications and all, doing watercolors can be fun in so many ways and all you have to do is never give up and just keep on practicing. I’m pretty sure even Winslow Homer, Georgia O’Keeffe, Paul Klee and the other masters had their fair share of trial and error as they practiced relentlessly using this medium until they were able to come up with some of the best art masterpieces the world has ever known.

First Watercolor Painting

I did this unprepared and somehow came up with an obscure random watercolor painting with a little drawing stint on the side…

I am not hoping to be like them, and I think I never will. I know my limitations and for me to be able to do a decent watercolor painting is enough, but with this first watercolor painting I’ve made after so many years (yup, the one you’re seeing above right now), I still yet have a long, LONG way to go. Practice makes perfect, as they all say… so let the good times roll and just keep on practicing.

*UPDATE: I decided to do another watercolor practice last night and came up with my own version of Neon Genesis Evangelion‘s Mari Makinami Illustrious using one of my mini figures of her I have in my collection.. and here’s the aftermath below:

Mari Makinami Watercolor-for WP

My “interpretation” of Mari Makinami Illustrious from the manga/anime Neon Genesis Evangelion.

6 thoughts on “Trying my hand once again in doing watercolor…

    • Gee, really? Why thank you so much Deb for the kind words 🙂 I’m glad you like them even though I still think they need more polishing up. I guess this is just me being too conscious about the stuff that I draw or paint, I always wanted to give my all on what I can do, and that is why I spend so much time and effort practicing on my watercolors since I decided to paint again last March. Thanks again Deb and stay safe always.

      • That’s the beauty of watercolours – they’re best when you stay loose and sometimes polishing them up takes them too far. I say you’re on the right track! I painted with watercolours for about 10 years then switched to acrylic and collage. But you’re inspiring me to dig them out!

    • I certainly agree with you Deb, there’s this certain magic and charm about watercolours that anyone can appreciate. I guess you’re right about staying loose while working on your watercolours, oftentimes you get nice results with it and overdoing it might not be a good idea in the long run. There were times when I wanted to try acrylics but I guess I’ll just stick to watercolours for now and enjoy what I have always wanted to do for so long. Thanks for the encouraging words, Deb! Like what I’ve said.. one day at a time, one watercolour piece at a time. Hope you can share some of your past watercolour works someday. I would love to see them and I’m pretty sure it’ll give me so much inspiration to practice more.

Leave a Reply

