A pocket full of entry-level reliability…

I got to admit that there was a time in my life where I got so hooked into the fast-paced world of mobile technology that having just one particular mobile handset would only last me for some months and the next thing I know, I’m now holding a new mobile phone  that I’ll be tinkering around ’til God-knows-when-I’ll-get-a-new-one… and this cycle went on for the next couple of years and I just can’t keep count on how many cellphones did I manage to use from the time I got my very first handset which was the Nokia 5110i in 2001. It was only around three years ago when my relentless pursuit to satisfy my craving for the latest mobile technology had somehow (miraculously) stopped and I decided to rekindle my hobby for photography, thus shifting my focus now to digital cameras and other photography equipment… Soon I found myself very much content with the Nokia X2-01 QWERTY mobile phone that I’ve been using for a good couple of years now (and yes, I think this broke the record for the longest-staying mobile handset I had in my entire life as a “cellphone freak”.)

My newest baby… the Samsung Galaxy Pocket

As the days, months and years dragged on, my family somehow noticed that they were having a bit of a hard time contacting me whenever I went out of the house… phone calls couldn’t get through, super delayed text messages (incoming and outgoing), at first we thought it was network problems, but later on I realized that the problem was with my X2-01 handset already. I didn’t want to just go out and get myself a replacement since I’m limited to my spending capacity, and a snazzy, high-end brand or model is definitely out of the picture. My sister was nagging me almost everyday to get my X2-01 replaced for good and after some months of perseverance to stick to my guns, I finally gave in to that pressure and decided on a date on when I’ll be getting myself a new handset. Since I’ve been long out of touch from what’s new and what’s hot in the world of mobile technology, I did myself a little research on what type, brand and model should I get that will just somehow fit to my allotted budget. Since smartphones are the way to go these days, then a smartphone is what I’ll get.

This what keeps me occupied if I’m too lazy to take out my camera to do a photo shoot… Instagram!

I know for a fact that there is no way I’ll be getting myself the iPhone or the so-called “god of all smartphones” since my pocket ain’t too deep to stash out a huge chunk of money for it despite having good specs and functionality, even the other high-end to mid-range Android phones from various brands are still a bit pricey. I wasn’t in a hurry so I just took my sweet time to look around and stuff… until my sister handed to me a newspaper clipping saying that Samsung Mobile is having a “Thank You Sale” on all of their handsets in all participating branches stated. So to cut the long story short, I’ve finally decided to get myself the Samsung Galaxy Pocket (S5300) which is just right on the budget and the specs are somehow good and reliable for someone like me who’s getting himself familiarized with smartphone technology. I never realized how small it was in person as soon as I got hold of it at the Samsung Mobile branch that day when I purchased the unit, it somehow reminded me of the classic Nokia 8210‘s and 8250‘s that were the ‘in’ thing during the late 90’s to early 2000. But in today’s trend, the bigger (longer or wider) your smartphone is, the better and “cooler” you are. But nonetheless, the Samsung Galaxy Pocket was worth it! It’s entry-level functionality is enough to get me familiarized on how to go about handling a smartphone and it may indeed become a stepping stone for me to be able to handle the more advanced smartphones someday (hopefully if I do have the budget to get one hehe.) There are still a lot of getting used to, but I’m taking it one day at a time and I’m seriously enjoying it… but more importantly, no more delayed text messages and my family can now call me without a hitch!

I have somehow reconnected once more with my geeky self through purchasing the Samsung Galaxy Pocket, but I hope it won’t unleash the ‘gadget-hungry monster’ in me once more… but I think I have somehow mellowed over time, though I can’t be sure… but for now let the good times roll, folks! ‘Til next time, stay safe always!

Leave a Reply

