Toy Fair treasures: Miniature diorama of Tetsujin 28

The little, rare finds that you get to discover out of the blue… and this miniature diorama of Tetsujin 28 is one of them!

December 18, Sunday… It was the last day of the 6th Toy Fair 2011 held at the Megatrade Hall 1 of  SM Megamall and I was able to survive the impending Yuletide traffic that was starting to build up on my way to the said place. Though the crowd that greeted me during the event was not as intense and annoying, in some way, like that of the annual Philippine Toy Convention (ToyCon) being held also at the same venue. I managed to go about my business in taking snapshots for my blogs before I went straight right away in getting hold of some toy goodies that I’ll be using for work and at the same time add them to my collection. Anyways, the photo you’re seeing right now above is one of those great finds that I have managed to purchase from one of the toy stalls during the event, it took me a lot of rounds checking the stalls and their stuff before I got to discover this one and with its miniature size and all, you’ll definitely miss out on this one if you just do a quick scan and jump to the next stall.

It is a miniature diorama of Tetsujin 28 (for those in the United States, he is more popularly known as Gigantor) where he is depicted as somewhat soaring to the skies with searchlights on the background along with some small buildings underneath that provides as its base for the mini plastic figure. From the looks of it the make is quite good and even if it be a bootleg/fake, for something that small, every detail on the diorama is very polished… including the paint job mind you. And for Php 30 (roughly around $0.70) I never took that chance and immediately bought the item right away before somebody else sees it! Even my friend and fellow toy collector Adrian told me that for something that nice and affordable, it was definitely worth it. Either way guys, for me, it really doesn’t matter whether the toy item is genuine or bootleg. I’m just a random toy collector who just wants to get his money’s worth out of the item and more importantly, whatever floats my boat is definitely okay with me.

Aside from the photo above, I have several other photos of the Tetsujin 28 diorama uploaded on our Made in X Facebook page and if you guys would like to check it out kindly click here. I still have other great finds and steals tucked away from my little stash of goodies purchased from that event and I’ll be sharing each and every one of them soon. ‘Til next time folks, stay safe always!

10 thoughts on “Toy Fair treasures: Miniature diorama of Tetsujin 28

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a little bit, but other than that, this is fantastic blog. An excellent read. I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

