SDF Macross’ holy trinity finally in my collection!

Now I can finally say that after all those years of deprivation and patience, I have now finally acquired three of the most important Macross figures that has eluded me for the longest time and somehow I can now say that I couldn’t ask for anything more… I hope! It’s a good thing Revoltech came up with their own line of Macross Valkyries which is “relatively affordable” than the ones manufactured by other toy companies such as Yamato and the like. I know it is such a silly idea to be comparing both products since Yamato‘s version are larger in scale, diecast and transformable while the Revoltechs are much smaller, made with PVC material and non-transformable (except for the new versions released last year which can now transform into Fighter, Gerwalk and Battroid modes.) Though it is one of my biggest dreams to own a Yamato version of the Macross Valkyrie but sadly it is way too expensive for me to purchase and settling for the Revoltechs is enough for me.

(L-R) VF-1A Hikaru Ichijo (movie ver.), VF-1J Hikaru Ichijo (TV ver.) and the VF-1S Strike Valkyrie Roy Focker (movie ver.)

If I’m not mistaken Revoltech’s complete Macross line consists of five Valkyries and one Zentraedi battle pod known as the Regult. I was lucky enough to have bought the three essential Valkyrie variables which were on sale and these are the VF-1A which was used by Hikaru Ichijo (or Rick Hunter for those who are more familiar with Robotech) in the movie Macross: Do You Remember Love?, the VF-1J which was used again by Hikaru Ichijo in the TV animated series Super Dimension Fortress Macross and lastly, the VF-1S Strike Valkyrie used by Skull Squadron ace pilot and Hikaru’s mentor Roy Focker in the movie Macross: Do You Remember Love? The other two Valkyries in the toy line are the ones piloted by the infamous Macross couple Max and Milia Jenius which are the blue and red-colored VF-1Js, but to my big surprise these two variables are priced much higher than the first three Valkyries! Max’s blue VF-1J costs around almost Php 2,000 (roughly close to $46.00) while Milia’s red VF-1J sells for a whopping Php 2,700! (around $63.00) A friend of mine explained to me the reasons why Milia’s Valkyrie was priced that high and though I understood the circumstances behind it, I decided not to get the couple’s famous Valkyries. For one, they’re just VF-1J variables painted in blue and red colors and having to get Hikaru and Roy’s Valkyries were of the utmost priority. With that plan ditched for good, I might as well settle for the Regult which is far more reasonable to purchase and at least I can now get to complete the entire Macross cast of good and bad guys.

If you guys want to check out the other photos I took of my Valkyrie collection, you can just visit our Made in X Facebook page. Thanks!

2 thoughts on “SDF Macross’ holy trinity finally in my collection!

Leave a Reply

