My Macross action figure dilemma…

My one and only Macross (bootleg) toy in my collection

A few months ago I began to have this insatiable craving for Macross toy figures whether it be action toys, scale model kits or even gashapons as well. Not even once did I own a decent Macross toy ever since it became popular here in the Philippines when the animated series was shown on RPN Channel 9 back in the mid to late 80’s, I even remember getting all envious at my cousin when he got this huge, classic and transformable Macross Battroid toy (I think it was from Bandai) that his mom bought from Hong Kong while I settled for a plastic bootleg version of it painted in dirty white (now yellowish due to discoloration) with some parts in light blue (as seen in the photo)… and if you ask me when and how I got the toy, I have no idea! This China replica of the VF-1 is all I have to remember me by when Macross became so popular back then… nothing more, nothing less… period.

Even up to this very day having one of ’em Macross loveys had eluded me for some unknown reason maybe because of its rarity and if you do get to come across several of these items, they are being sold at a very high price! Most especially the gashapon versions where some of the toy shops that I’ve been to were selling it at an insanely expensive price, whether by the set or by piece, it was still kinda unreasonable for someone like me who wants to get his money’s worth from the things that I buy. Okay, I may be somewhat like a frugal bug when it comes to buying stuff, most especially with toys but now I have somehow surrendered to the fact that there is no way that I can buy a Macross toy nowadays without spending a fairly big amount of money, though I’m pretty sure that I might come across some items that are on sale and that would be the least possible thing to do for myself just to have a decent Macross figure.

The object of my dilemma… The VF-1A Super Valkyrie from Revoltech

There were several occasions that I’ve seen some Macross items from Revoltech going on sale but these variables were not somehow the ones that I really want, but for its discounted price, it really wasn’t bad at all. It was last Sunday (August 21) when I came across a Revoltech 038 VF-1A Super Valkyrie selling for only Php 1,000 (roughly around $23.00), as I was holding the box and checking the figure inside through the packaging, it looked really nice from the built down to the colors, despite its small size for which Revoltech figures are known for. But I was having second thoughts about it since this will be my first time to own a Revoltech figure, I wanted to get something more “worthy” like a Queen’s Blade Nanael Action Figure or something similar to that, so I quickly placed it back and continued looking for the other toy items on display. A few days later I decided to search it on the internet and when I saw the photo samples of the VF-1A, I was so smitten by its looks and he was simply awesome! The package carried some nifty accessories as well and I was now starting to regret on not buying the action figure that day… this is one helluva dilemma that has haunted me for the longest time, and if by chance that I go back there someday and see the VF-1A still on display, then that would be the time I’ll be making my final decision.

11 thoughts on “My Macross action figure dilemma…

  1. Needed to write you one tiny observation to be able to say thank you the moment again relating to the pleasant suggestions you have provided in this case. It was certainly tremendously open-handed with you to present publicly what most of us would’ve offered as an ebook in order to make some money for themselves, most importantly since you might have tried it in the event you considered necessary. Those tips additionally served as the good way to recognize that most people have a similar interest just like my very own to see a lot more with regard to this condition. I’m sure there are thousands of more fun opportunities ahead for individuals who looked at your website.

    • Been wanting to have this Revoltech version ever since I laid eyes on it. Play the waiting game muna tayo at medyo may kamahalan pa sya. Jehuty looks awesome! Hope you can get to buy him soon 🙂

    • Thank you very much toy lover for appreciating the stuff you see in my blog, most especially the toys that I have already featured. I have a few Gundam action figures in my collection though I don’t think I have already made a post about them yet 🙂 if you want to see a more complete collection of my toys, please do find the time to check our Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/madeinx, maraming salamat uli and hope to hear from you soon.

Leave a Reply

