Improvising my plastic toy soldiers diorama

I have been a big fan of scale model dioramas for so long and I did own several model kits in the past but due to my childish outlook on these things, some of them ended up inside the box battered and losing one or two parts… or worse, they get lost eventually. It was only recently that I have rekindled my love for scale models and dioramas since I’m now into amateur toy photography and it would be nice to take some snapshots of your miniature tanks and figures in diorama action. But setting up your own scale model kits can be really pocket-draining, from purchasing the scale model kits down to the paint, brushes and other stuff… PRICEY! But I thought to myself that there are other ways you can enjoy making your own diorama without having to spend a fortune on it, though it may not be as good and detailed as those from Tamiya, Hasegawa, Revell or Academy, just a little creativity and you’re good to go.

Here are some of the low-light shots of my improvised diorama plastic toys soldiers and a miniature scale model WW2 U.S. tank

I’ve decided to use these plastic toy soldiers that you can buy for at least Php 50/plastic bag ($1.00 something) at Toy Kingdom but don’t expect these plastic figures to be as intricately detailed like those other plastic toy soldier brands from abroad but these China-made toy soldiers will do for me. I mix and match these plastic figures with some of the miniature scale model tanks I have from my collection to somehow add drama to your improvised diorama and as soon as everything’s set, it is time to take out your camera and snap away.

A few days ago I decided to make a rundown, two-storey carton building using a carry-all holder (or something like that) from Krispy Kreme and I’ll be including it soon in one of my upcoming diorama photo sets. If you want to check out more of my diorama picture set with bigger and clearer photos, you can visit our Facebook page by clicking on this link. ‘Til next time!

2 thoughts on “Improvising my plastic toy soldiers diorama

Leave a Reply

