SM bargain toy treasures: F.D.N.Y. commemorative fire fighter figure

Aside from the Masked Rider Kaijin Orphnoch figure from Bandai, there was this one rare purchase I made from that same bargain store inside the SM Annex in North EDSA that was truly a steal and somehow, I was there at the right place at the right time when the new stocks of marked-down toys came as I patiently waited for the guys manning the store to finish their inventory before I began scanning the new stuff they got… and it wasn’t for long when my radar locked-in on a couple of boxed 12-inch action figures neatly stacked in one corner, looking at them up close, you can tell that these were kept inside their stock room for a long time from the dust particles on the box plus including some minimal mold build up on the other figures. Since there were just a handful of people inside the store it was my chance to choose the action figure that was in its best condition, and at a nifty price of Php 50.00 (roughly around $1.00 plus), I wanted  somehow to get my money’s worth despite of its marked-down price tag.

The commemorative action figure of an F.D.N.Y. fire fighter 9/11

It is a commemorative 12-inch action figure of an F.D.N.Y. (New York City Fire Department) fire fighter who were commended for their bravery when they were the first to immediately respond to help those who were trapped inside the ill-fated Twin Towers during the September 11, 2001 terrorist attack on American soil. The figure came with a fireman’s helmet, the F.D.N.Y. uniform, an American flag and what seems to be the F.D.N.Y. badge which was nowhere to be found on all the other sets. After making my pick, went straight to the cashier and bought the fire fighter figure. It was indeed a good buy because these 12-inch figs can be a bit pricey when they’re not on sale but nonetheless, it was one of the best purchases I made and it was worth it.

6 thoughts on “SM bargain toy treasures: F.D.N.Y. commemorative fire fighter figure

    • True story man, I never expected that they would drop the price that low. 50 bucks for a 12-inch action figure, it was indeed a good steal! 🙂

    • Hi Ronald, sorry for the late reply.. the name of the store where I got this FDNY commemorative figure is Toy Express, I got this particularly at its branch in SM North EDSA (The Annex) but I’m not sure if they still have this selling since they only had limited stocks then. Thanks for the comment Ronald, have a great day!

  1. Scott Rich says:

    I have one of the FDNY Firefighter first responder 12″ figures. It is new, in the original box (never been opened). I am interested in selling it but I don’t know how to price it. Can you advise me on the cost of this item in today’s market? Thanks.

    • Hi Scott, first of all I would like to apologize for seeing your comment just now and replying this late… been on a long hiatus and it is only now that I’ve decided to go back to blogging and hopefully stay for good… about your question on the current cost of the 12″ FDNY Firefighter figure, I’m really not that sure as to how much it is selling right now since the one that I have with me was purchased at a toy discount store and was sold at super marked down price. Since I’m more of a random toy collector I buy my toys that I really like whether it be brand new, second-hand, original or bootlegs, and most of the time the toys I buy are for my personal collection. For as long as I get my money’s worth on that item, I’m surely going to buy them.

      I’m pretty much sure that there are other sellers on the internet who might be selling these Firefighter figures and maybe you can have an idea on its estimated value right now. My apologies Scott and I do think I’m not much of a help regarding your inquiry. But thanks for taking time out in visiting my blog and noticing this post. Happy toy hunting and have a great day!

Leave a Reply

