Brave Raideen and God Bird figures

Of all the Super Robot characters of my generation, Brave Raideen was one of those classic Japanese mecha I never got to have as part of my diecast toy collection when I was a kid. One of the reasons why I wanted to have just even one decent Brave Raideen figure is that it can transform itself into a robotic bird-like figure called the God Bird, and this awesome transformation strongly resembled the mystical character of the Mechanical Eagle which appeared in several Voltes V episodes back in the late 70’s/early 80’s. Nowadays you get to see some Brave Raideen and God Bird diecast toys being sold at several toy specialty shops but their prices are just way too expensive! Luckily I was able to find a more affordable alternative to those pricey diecast versions though it may not be what I really wanted to have but at least both the Brave Raideen and God Bird figs are now part of my collection after nearly three decades…

The chibi version of Brave Raideen was purchased at a small toy shop in Metrowalk for Php 100 (around $2.00 plus) and the God Bird gashapon fig was also purchased a few months later for Php 100 in Greenhills. All that patience and determination to find them paid off really well and somehow, these will do for now but I’m hoping to get myself either their diecast or vinyl versions sometime soon.

My Brave Raideen figure (chibi version)

The mini gashapon figure of God Bird (Brave Raideen)

Leave a Reply

