My small McFarlane Toys collection

It was only about four to five years ago when McFarlane Toys captured my attention due to its elaborate and fine-detailed figures being sold in specialty toy shops everywhere. Though I am very much aware who Todd McFarlane is since everyone knows that he created the avenging angel of darkness known as Spawn and along with it came a string of successful comic book issues for Image Comics, a mini television series for HBO and eventually Todd even ventured into the world of toys… toys for the big boys… thus McFarlane Toys bred into this world. Todd McFarlane‘s extensive catalog of awesome figures will leave you breathless due to its excellent quality and intricate fine details.

My very first McFarlane figure: Spawn The Black Knight (Dark Ages) figure

My very first McFarlane figure was given to me by my fiancée years ago and this is the Spawn The Black Knight (DARK AGES ISSUE 1 COVER ART) from the Spawn Series 26: The Art of Spawn collection released in October 2004. I was drawn to its breathtaking details from the head down to its base and though this figure had its share of the beating as it had experienced a few slips and falls that caused the sword he’s holding to break (and re-attaching it with super glue), it is still in tip-top shape and it’s proudly displayed on top of my toy rack.

Vlad the Impaler figure from the Six Faces of Madness series of McFarlane Toys

But of course, starting this pricey “habit” was difficult to contain and having just one figure wasn’t enough to satisfy my craving for more and since McFarlane Toys was doing well in the market, so was the creation of its other toy figures that was popping up in toy shelves every time I visited the shops during weekends! A few months later, my second McFarlane figure came in the form of the blood-thirsty tyrant Dracula or more popularly known as Vlad the Impaler from McFarlane Toys’ Six Faces of Madness series. I remember buying this awesome figure for only PHP 700 (almost $16.00) at SM Makati‘s toy department when most of the McFarlane items went on sale. So satisfied with the details and with the series as well, I was setting my sights on purchasing Atila the Hun next but due to mysterious reasons I don’t clearly remember, I seem to have placed those thoughts of buying Atila soon at the back of my mind and I was several months (or even years) too late now that the entire Six Faces of Madness series went out of circulation. Nowadays you might get them as loose items (pre-owned items) or if it’s in mint condition, some shops will be selling it at twice the original amount. Aside from the two infamous personalities I’ve mentioned from the series, the other four included are Elizabeth Bathory, Jack the Ripper, Rasputin and Billy the Kid.

The last of my McFarlane figures: the Mandarin Spawn 2

My last McFarlane figure from my collection is the Mandarin Spawn 2 my fiancée gave me as a homecoming present when she went on a work-related trip to Singapore (or was it Hong Kong?) years ago. I never expected that she would be buying me this figure since purchasing McFarlane figures abroad can be quite expensive, but I was so happy that time and I just couldn’t let go of the figure the entire day and like a small kid I would stare and look at it from different angles. Yup, those are my three different McFarlane items that I cherish very much. It’s kinda funny since I’ve been through several good-paying jobs up until the last one I had as a freelance writer in April of last year but never did I made any new purchases of McFarlane Toys since the Mandarin Spawn 2, for one thing I remembered that there was a time that several toy stores were not selling anymore the Spawn nor the other product lines that I really loved but instead they were selling the basketball figures including the U.S. military edition, and eventually the prices for the McFarlane figs jacked up a bit so I decided to buy other stuff instead from my hard-earned money. Nevertheless, having a few of them in my collection is worth it.

10 thoughts on “My small McFarlane Toys collection

  1. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thanks However I’m experiencing situation with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting an identical rss downside? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

Leave a Reply

